The music of Carl Vine

McNeill, Rhoderick (2017) The music of Carl Vine. Australian Composers series, 4. WIldbird Music Pty.Ltd., Sydney, Australia. ISBN 9780987514530


This is the first book to provide a comprehensive survey and analysis of the concert music of Australian composer Carl Vine. The book provides an introductory overview of the composer's biography and his compositional ethos followed by chapters which discuss his 1. Works for Piano, 2. Works for chamber ensemble, 3. Vocal works, 4. Small orchestral works and ballet suites, 5. Seven Symphonies and 6. Orchestral works in Concerto form.
The composer emerges as a major contemporary composer in Australia and within western classical concert music.

Statistics for USQ ePrint 30155
Statistics for this ePrint Item
Item Type: Book (Commonwealth Reporting Category A)
Refereed: Yes
Item Status: Live Archive
Additional Information: Files associated with this record cannot be displayed due to copyright restrictions. Information about the book may be obtained from the Publisher or from the author:
Faculty / Department / School: Current - Faculty of Business, Education, Law and Arts - School of Arts and Communication
Date Deposited: 09 Jan 2018 04:17
Last Modified: 12 Oct 2018 04:53
Uncontrolled Keywords: Carl Vine; Australian classical music; sonatas; string quartets; symphonies; concertos
Fields of Research : 19 Studies in Creative Arts and Writing > 1904 Performing Arts and Creative Writing > 190409 Musicology and Ethnomusicology
Socio-Economic Objective: C Society > 95 Cultural Understanding > 9501 Arts and Leisure > 950101 Music

Actions (login required)

View Item Archive Repository Staff Only